Austin Film Fest Audience Award Winners
Private Private
Public Public

Austin Film Fest Audience Award Winners


AUSTIN, Texas— November 7, 2019— Austin Film Festival (AFF), the premier Festival to recognize the writer’s contribution to film, television, theatre and new media, is thrilled to announce the 2019 Audience Award winners. Following each screening, audience members cast their votes for the Audience Award, recognizing the audience’s Festival favorites among the 2019 film slate.

The following Audience Award winners were selected by category:

Marquee FeatureLast Week at Ed’s, directed by Meg and Lawrence Kasdan

Narrative FeatureThe Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain, written and directed by David Midell

Documentary Feature: Cowboys, directed by John Langmore and Bud Force

Dark Matters Feature: Noise, written and directed by Jérémy Laval

Comedy Vanguard Feature: The Planters, written and directed by Alexandra Kotcheff and Hannah Leder

Texas Independent Feature: When We Last Spoke, written by Joanne Hock and Rick Eldridge, directed by Joanne Hock

Narrative ShortThe President and the Crossing Keeper, written by Jean-Marc Peyrefitte and Marc Syrigas, directed by Jean-Marc Peyrefitte

Documentary Short: Dead Woman’s Pass, directed by Alexander Houghton

Animated ShortThe Fox and the Bird, written by Christophe Pagnon and Vincent Gessler, directed by Sam and Fred Guillaume

Narrative Student ShortHoly Jail, written and directed by Maria Lavelle

Produced Digital Series Presented by Stage 13Brothers from the Suburbs, created by Patrick Wimp

In addition to the Audience Award-winning films, the following Film Jury Award winners were selected by category:

Narrative Feature: The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain, written and directed by David Midell

Documentary FeatureFlannery, written and directed by Elizabeth Coffman and Mark Bosco

Comedy Vanguard FeatureThe Planters, written and directed by Alexandra Kotcheff and Hannah Leder

Dark Matters Feature: Macabre, written by Lucas Paraizo and Rita Gloria Curvo, directed by Marcos Prado

Narrative Short: Call Connect., written by Indianna Bell, directed by Indianna Bell and Josiah Allen

Narrative Student Short: Black Goat, written and directed by Yi Tang

Documentary Short: The Mortician of Manila, directed by Leah Borromeo

Animated Short: The Kite, written and directed by Martin Smatana

Produced Digital Series Presented by Stage 13Brothers from the Suburbs, created by Patrick Wimp

Austin Film Festival is also pleased to recognize the Script Competition winners selected by category:


Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East:  Scandalous! by Matthew Fantaci

Comedy Screenplay Award presented by Sony Pictures Animation: Rearranged by Zarna Garg and Greg Fortier

Sci-Fi Screenplay Award: Service Animals by Christopher Corte

Enderby Entertainment Award (scripts that can be produced under $10 million)Service Animals by Christopher Corte

Horror Screenplay Award: Delirium by Alex D Reid

AMC Drama Teleplay Pilot Award: Ghostrunner by Jonathan Flicker

Comedy Pilot Award: Good Lord by Tillery Johnson

Short Screenplay Award: You are My Fish and I Will Keep You Alive by Em Frederick

Scripted Digital Series Award presented by Stage 13: Incoming by David Singer

Drama Teleplay Spec Award: The Crown: Heir Apparent by Lygia Gordon

Comedy Teleplay Spec Award: Atlanta: Ghetto Submarine by Kyra Rogers

Playwriting Award: After the Fall by Miki Kim

Fiction Podcast Award: Old Forks Inn by Rose Judson

The Josephson Entertainment Screenwriting Fellowship selected fellows included:

  • Feature Screenplay: Service Animals by Christopher Corte
  • Teleplay Pilot: Faith Breaker by Sam Alper

The winner of the HUMANITAS ORIGINALS Award is:

  • When a Flower Falls by Zoe Cheng

The winner of the Rooster Teeth Fellowship Award is:

  • The Daily Dowager by Jon Comulada

And the development deal winners are:

  • All the President’s Women by Naomi Brodkin
  • Fitter Families by Caitlin Scherer
  • Rearranged by Zarna Garg and Greg Fortier 

The 2019 Producers Book & Print Source List is now available to download.  This document contains loglines and contact information for the year’s top scripts in the Script Competition as well as the Print Source List of all films screened at the 26th Annual Austin Film Festival.

Austin Film Festival (AFF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to furthering the art, craft and business of writers and filmmakers and recognizing their contributions to film, television, theatre and new media. AFF champions the work of aspiring and established writers and filmmakers by providing unique cultural events and services, enhancing public awareness and participation, and encouraging dynamic and long-lasting community partnerships.  AFF is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department and the Texas Commission on the Arts. Badges and passes are available for purchase online at or by phone at 1-800-310-FEST.

The Latest In Your Scene: