(New York, NY – April 16th, 2021) Broadway Records announced today the release of IN PIECES,a new musical by Joey Contreras.With 10 tracks, this highlights recording features performances by David Archuleta, Andrew Barth Feldman, George Salazar, Solea Pfeiffer, Ben Fankhauser, Natalie Weiss, Ashley De La Rosa, Leslie Hiatt and Emily Kristen Morris. The album is available today on BroadwayRecords.com and wherever digital music is sold. 

IN PIECES reflects on the romantic journeys of eight individuals, as they share, ponder and look back on the chosen paths and partners along the way. Set in New York City, there’s the scary excitement of being vulnerable and saying yes to whatever adventure is ahead. The magical first kiss. An unlikely friendship. Well-kept secrets. The monotony. The rebound. An awkward reunion on the 1 train. And the honest conversations of deserving more. All these pieces of a life that at times connect and disconnect, but once at a distance, come together to create a universal remembrance of what it’s like to be young and learning in love. 

The highlights album includes performances by “American Idol” alum David Archuleta, Andrew Barth Feldman (Dear Evan Hansen, “High School Musical: The Musical: The Series”), George Salazar (Superstore, Be More Chill), Solea Pfeiffer (Hamilton), Ben Fankhauser (Newsies), Natalie Weiss (Emojiland, “The Greatest Showman”), Ashley De La Rosa (Mean Girls), Mia Gerachis (Jekyll & Hyde), Brad Greer (Anastasia, The Broadway Boys), Leslie Hiatt (The Evolution of Mann), Emily Kristen Morris (Something Rotten), Stevi Incremona (Pyre Cantata), Sean Doherty (Men With Money), Nygel D. Robinson (Freedom Riders), Tommy Kaiser (BroadwayWorld Next on Stage S2 Winner) and songwriter Joey Contreras

“Many of the songs in IN PIECES have been previously recorded and released, but as this show has grown and developed over the years, I wanted the chance to record and share the additional newer music on this highlights album. With this release, the full In Pieces experience is out there and complete — at least for now! Another thing I think people may find inspiring or cool is that this entire project was rehearsed and recorded during the Covid-19 pandemic, so it was a lot of Zoom calls, home setups and studios with artists across the country. It definitely became a project of passion and purpose for me and my husband, Brian Russell Carey, who co-produced this with me during these crazy times.”

IN PIECES: A New Musical (Highlights) is engineered, produced and mixed by Joey Contreras and Brian Russell Carey. Additional mixing by Carl Culley, Nick Stetina, and Andrew Brien. David Archuleta vocals engineered by Cody Hunter at Graybox Nashville Studios. Mastered by Riley Knapp. 

Track List for IN PIECES: A New Musical (Highlights)

 1. Fork in the Road (Intro) – In Pieces Ensemble

2. You Never Know – Brad Greer, Mia Gerachis, In Pieces Ensemble

3. Me and Mr. Popularity – Andrew Barth Feldman

4. This Is Not Me – George Salazar

5. Like You Don’t Miss Me – Stevi Incremona, Natalie Weiss, Ashley De La Rosa

6. Another New York Love Story – Leslie Hiatt

7. Love Me, Love Me Not – David Archuleta

8. Singin’ the Same Line – Solea Pfeiffer, In Pieces Ensemble

9. In Pieces – Ben Fankhauser, In Pieces Ensemble

10. Fork in the Road – Joey Contreras, Tommy Kaiser, In Pieces Ensemble 

The music video for the first single from the album, Me and Mr. Popularity (performed by Andrew Barth Feldman) came out last month and may be seen HERE.

Connect with IN PIECES on Instagram: @inpiecesmusical

Joey Contreras is a musical theatre and pop songwriter originally from California.  He is internationally known for his albums Love Me, Love Me Not, Young Kind of Love, & Joyride which feature an all-star lineup of Broadway and Pop talent and have spawned performances of his music worldwide. 

His song-cycle, IN PIECES, was originally presented at Lincoln Center and is available for worldwide licensing. In 2021, the London production company, Future Spotlight Productions, developed the musical into a feature film, starring established West End performers as well as emerging talent. His musicals with book writer/lyricist, Kate Thomas, include All The Kids Are Doing It (Provincetown Playhouse, Tisch, IWU, O’Neill NMTC Finalist), Forget Me Not (Open Jar Institute, NYU, The Dare Tactic, dir. Catie Davis) and Elements.  He is also currently developing Heartbreakers in Hell, with book writer/lyricist Benjamin Halstead.  Additionally he has written music for the Walt Disney Company, and various short films.

Joey is a 2018 Jonathan Larson Grant Finalist as well as an alumnus of the NYU Graduate Musical Theatre Writing program (ASCAP Max Dreyfus Scholarship) and the Johnny Mercer Project.  As a strong supporter of arts education, Joey has served as Artist-in-Residence with Broadway Dreams Foundation, and regularly teaches master classes with The Growing Studio and at universities worldwide. Instagram, Twitter + TikTok: @joeycontreras 

Broadway Records is the leading, Grammy® winning record label dedicated to releasing the most popular and current Broadway cast recordings, as well as preserving legacy musical theatre and theatre vocalists repertoire. Under the leadership of Broadway Records’ president and founder Van Dean, recent releases include: If The Fates Allow: The Hadestown Holiday Album, Lea Salonga Live In Concert with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Marguerite starring Cady Huffman, the Broadway star-filled Wellsongs Project, Legacy: Two Song Cycles by Ahrens and Flaherty, Georgia On My Mind with an all-star Broadway cast, the soundstage recording of Estella Scrooge, the Grammy® and Tony Award-winning revival of The Color Purple, the Tony Award® winning and Grammy® nominated revival of Once On This Island, the Grammy® nominated Matilda The Musical, Fiddler on the Roof (2015 revival) and My Fair Lady (2018 revival), Anastasia, Bandstand, Groundhog Day, The Lightning Thief and NBC’s television events, “The Wiz Live!” and “Peter Pan Live!”. The label’s critically-acclaimed “Live at Feinstein’s/54 Below” series features top Broadway stars including Patti LuPone, Aaron Tveit, Annaleigh Ashford, Norbert Leo Butz, Sierra Boggess, Laura Benanti, Emily Skinner & Alice Ripley, Adam Pascal & Anthony Rapp, Micky Dolenz and many others. Broadway Records has partnered with the Black Theatre Coalition to create Black Writers Amplified, an album consisting entirely of new works by Black musical theatre writers, a project to immediately take steps toward significantly increased representation of Black writers in musical theatre. Black Writers Amplified will be released in 2021 and act as a resource for artistic directors, producers and other theatre creators to find and support new voices and emerging Black talent. Broadway Records philanthropic endeavors also include the “Broadway For Orlando: What The World Needs Now is Love”, “We Are The World” by Broadway United and “Broadway Kids Against Bullying: I Have a Voice” music videos and From Broadway With Love benefit concerts for Sandy Hook, Orlando (Emmy Award for Sound) and Parkland. www.BroadwayRecords.com 

The Latest In Your Scene:
error: Protected Content